top of page
Andromeda_Galaxy_(with_h-alpha)
Australia_night
sky-with-stars-yellowstone-national-park-wyoming
0bfa03_3adf481e5d9145c39f544871e9110588_

Welcome to Sydney City Skywatchers

We acknowledge and pay respect to the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation. It is upon their ancestral lands that Sydney Observatory, the home of Sydney City Skywatchers, is built. As we share our own knowledge and learn about astronomy and its heritage, may we also pay respect to the knowledge embedded forever within the Aboriginal Custodianship of Country.

 

Established in 1895, Sydney City Skywatchers carries forward a proud tradition of providing a forum dedicated to amateur astronomers and astronomy enthusiasts in the city. Since our beginnings our aims to service the amateurs in astronomy have not changed. We are inclusive and welcome new members from Sydney and beyond.

Should you wish to visit Sydney Observatory please contact the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences.


Become a Member
For only $45 per year you can join
Download the form and apply now.

 

Happy New Year!

2023 Speaker Program

Our monthly program is designed to appeal to our members' different interests and to stimulate cosmic curiousity. The evening begins with short Members reports prior to the keynote speaker.

Monday 6 February, 6:30pm

'Supernova remnants – life after death'

Dr Luke Bozzetto will discuss the processes involved in supernova remnant evolution and take a look at the exciting recent research in this field.

Monday 6 March, 6:30pm

'Eclipse Chasers' authors of the newly released CSIRO book discuss historic eclipses and the next one coming. Order your copy now.

Monday 3 April, 6:30pm

Monday 1 May, 6:30pm

Monday 5 June, 6:30pm

Telescope viewing night with mini-presentations

Monday 3 July, 6:30pm

Monday 7th August, 6:30pm

Members' presentation night.

Monday 4th September, 6:30pm

Wednesday 4th October, 6:30pm

Sydney City Skywatchers AGM

Monday 6th November, 6:30pm

bottom of page